• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dodgy Agency Practices

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dodgy Agency Practices

I've been contracting for 8 years, so I have no illusions about the general integrity of agents.

Back on the market after about 18 months or so I've noticed a strange pattern of behaviour in a number of agents that goes something like this:

1) I send off my CV in response to a job posting/agent e-mail
    2) Agent calls me, goes through the usual bluster
    3) Agent then says they need 2 references to "meet SLA with client" etc etc

The first couple of times it happened the alarm bells went off and I asked them to e-mail me, saying that I'd respond with the referee's details. Of course, they didn't e-mail me. The third or so time, out of curiosity, I gave them details of the Dev Mgr on a previous contract (who happens to be a good friend of mine). They went to bother of taking up a proper reference and then started hassling him a few days to see if he wanted contractors (until I phoned the agent concerned and gave them what for).

What puzzles me is that I got stroked with this type of thing ONCE in the bad days following the dot com crash, which leads me to conclude that it has always been going on and I've never encountered it before, or something has changed recently. The agency that took up the reference were one that I had worked a contract for before, so I made the schoolboy error of regarding them with slightly more esteem than the rest of them.