• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is 'To Pledge' legally binding ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is 'To Pledge' legally binding ?

I ran the London Marathon as part of my clients team, I was told the money raised by the team would be pooled and matched by the client to cover the minimum we needed to raise for the charity. I have now been told as a contractor my monies raised can't be pooled or matched and I must make sure I cover the minimum amount myself, I've raised a fair whack but now due to this I am £1k short of the minimum.

I want to make sure the charity get as much as they can but I not willing to cough up an extra £1k but am ok with extra £500. The only thing I have agreed with the charity is I agreed to 'Pledge to raise a minum of x amount', there were no more terms or conditions, is a 'Pledge' legally binding or is that just agreeing to 'try' and raise that amount. Anyone else not been able to raise the minimum amount for a charity and how was it handled ?

I would not run marathon even if they paid me £1000, I would not do it for £5000 also.

So if you had balls to agree to run it for free and pay £500, then have guts to follow it through.

Chances are if you whimp out of this one then you'd lose your contract too as you will be viewed as unreliable so in the next round of cost cutting the axe might just fall on yer neck. Hence you need to ask yourself if £500 extra for charity is worth to keep your gig and look like a man who keeps his word.

Comment