• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I need your ID verified

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need your ID verified

I've been contracting for a few years and this is a first. I've had an interview, been offered and verbally accepted the contract, and filled out a ton of forms at the agencies request.

However the agent is now requesting that I go to their office to 'confirm my ID':

I need your ID verified in a <agency name removed> Office, can you please confirm which area you would like to go to and I'll arrange it.

I offered an email scan of my passport before I received the above response, bearing in my mind the nearest office is 6 miles away and so quite an inconvenience/time drain would you say the request is unreasonable?
    You can lead a fool to wisdom but you can't make him think.

Originally posted by Amiga500 View Post
    would you say the request is unreasonable?
    Does it matter whether or not it's unreasonable? It's almost certainly less effort than going through the hassle of finding and being offered a different gig.

6 miles? I mean, seriously.

Comment

If the agency is named after a season its normal practise. 6 miles isn't far so I'd do it. however If I was asked to drive for 200 miles then I might be reluctant.

Comment

Originally posted by GardenGirl View Post
        If the agency is named after a season its normal practise. 6 miles isn't far so I'd do it. however If I was asked to drive for 200 miles then I might be reluctant.