• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Developer required to write simple webapp to replace Job Centre

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Developer required to write simple webapp to replace Job Centre

I'm appalled by how little this public service performs.

I have been using it for roughly 2 months now, and I'm starting to wonder why we throw money into an archaic and inefficient service.

I turn up on time.
    I then wait 45mins in an uncomfortable room with 5:1 people to waiting room chairs.
    I'm eventually called, I sit down, and sign on the dotted line.
    Then I'm simply told "Thats it, Bye now!"

Shouldn't they be showing an interest? Ask me how its going, offer me further services, or actually read my JSA diary? And what about apologising for keeping me waiting?

From what I can see, my local JC employs around 100 people spread over 3 storeys. The 'clerks' (?) just collect a stack of JSA booklets and call out names, bring up your details, click a box. Done! easy as 1-2-3.

Why on earth can't that be replaced with a website? That would be a very simple project; it would save us £millions; and it would free up more of my time to actually find work.

I believe that JC could be cut down to a small room with maybe 2 humans (so if you really need to speak with someone you can). A few more crappy EDS 'job points' for those without internet access at home. Everyone else in the real world with a PC can just do it all online, including the diary bit which also checks you've filled it out correctly.