• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

From Ltd to Umbrella

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From Ltd to Umbrella

Hi,

I have been contracting through my Ltd Co for 2 years, but I want to move to umbrella and close down the Ltd company. I have outstanding corp tax (and VAT etc), and have not paid these yet even though they were due a few months ago. Whats the procedure, can I just switch mid contract and then wind down or bankrupt the company? If I liquidate it can I avoid the corp tax etc?

Originally posted by Diestl View Post
    Hi,

I have been contracting through my Ltd Co for 2 years, but I want to move to umbrella and close down the Ltd company. I have outstanding corp tax (and VAT etc), and have not paid these yet even though they were due a few months ago. Whats the procedure, can I just switch mid contract and then wind down or bankrupt the company? If I liquidate it can I avoid the corp tax etc?
    HMRC won't let you close until everything is paid up. You're a director, you have legal responsibilities and could be bankrupted and banned from being a director again if you are deemed to have acted irresponsibly.

Comment

Originally posted by Turion View Post
      HMRC won't let you close until everything is paid up. You're a director, you have legal responsibilities and could be bankrupted and banned from being a director again if you are deemed to have acted irresponsibly.