• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HELP! Desperate and Frustrated (long post)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! Desperate and Frustrated (long post)

I'm fairly new to contracting, having started my first contract in April 2004. I was lucky enough to have that renewed 4 times until it finally came to an end at the beginning of February this year.

The role was pretty much a 2nd line support role, but I was working as the lead in the user / system admin team for a well known transporation company in London. There was a huge project to rollout Oracle and other enterprise apps to the business and my team fed into the programme, as well as providing general 2nd line desktop (XP & NT4) and server (NT4 & W2003) support. I was extremely well respected there and became the central point of focus for a lot of the local IT knowledge. I was working for a large outsourcing company, but unfortunately the contract was taken over by another supplier and all support was moved offsite (my function is now being provided from Inverness).