• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Rejecting a contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rejecting a contract

Hi folks I have one for you that I would like some ideas on.

I have been working in Geneva for the past 3 months on a crap rate but I didn't know how expensive things were out here before I headed over. It would have helped had the agent been a bit more honest at the outset. I was told I could easily get a furnished flat in Geneva for about 1000 swiss francs - what a load of horse tulip. Anyway that is probably my fault as I should have reserched the role better. Since then the pound has marched on and my rate has been further erroded. Utilmately I have been losing money on this role but figured I'm losing money more slowly than if I didn't have a job, so I have stuck with it.

The client wanted to extend my contract and I told the agent that I wanted an increase. Staright away he offered me 735 cfh a day (from 656). Initially (about a month ago) I said yes to this. However I have since found out that a colleague, doing the same role as me, working here via the same agency will be on 855 for the same work. Last week I told the agent I wanted partity with this and that I was rejecting the extension offer. He said he would get back to me and has not done so. My current contract ends tomorrow and my notice in this contract is 30 days. I suspect the agent may have been billing the same for us all along and pocketing the difference but I'll never be able to prove that.

So what are my options?