• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Breakdown

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Breakdown

I wondered if somebody could advise me on the following

I work as a contractor for (COMPANY A) who provide a service to (COMPANY B). COMPANY B decides that the cost that I am provided for through COMPANY A is too high and therefore terminate the relationship with COMPANY A. As a consequence I loose my position.

As this is through no fault of my own am I free to go directly to COMPANY B and offer my services at a lower rate??

This has not happened to me yet, although I really would not be suprised if this was to happen. I would therefore be very grateful if any of you could advise me exactly where I would stand.

Many Thanks

If Company A is an agency, their Ts & Cs will almost certainly prevent you going direct to B within a specified period, usually 6 or 12 months.
    If it's not an agency, and there's nothing in your contract to prevent you going direct, go for it and good luck.
    His heart is in the right place - shame we can't say the same about his brain...

Comment

Mordac, Thanks COMPANY A is not an agency however there is an agency involved.The contract basically states the obvious (I should not do anything detrimental to the interests of the consultancy) but surely if the relationship collapses due to no fault of my own then I am not in breach. Do you know who I should turn to for confirmation, my agency??

Comment