• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting without an agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting without an agency

I've been contracting for a few years now, but entierly through agencies. However, I've now been offered a contract directly with a client, and am wondering what differences there will be apart from a little extra cash?

Is there any form of additional insurance that I'll need? That say agencies provide by default?

I'm a PCG member, so I'm going to look at their template contracts, as the client wants me to provide all the paperwork.

Any tips from more experienced contractors?

-- Amos --

Direct to client is great, I have done a little bit in my time - personally I would avoid a contract (this would work in your favour from a ir35 point of view) but get a signed purchase order.

Comment

Originally posted by weemster View Post
      Direct to client is great, I have done a little bit in my time - personally I would avoid a contract (this would work in your favour from a ir35 point of view) but get a signed purchase order.
      Definately do not avoid a contract!

A proper contract is good for IR35, and not having a contract leaves you wide open to all sorts of nasties!
      The PCG one would be a good one.

The only other thing to be aware of is that in dealing direct it is you that will have to chase up the AP department of clientco when they don't pay an invoice, and that this will happen.
      Still Invoicing

Comment

What sort of nasties ?

Comment