• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving Home Mortgage Problems, pleeeease help!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving Home Mortgage Problems, pleeeease help!

Hi

I will try and keep and keep this short.....

I was hoping to close the deal on selling my house and buying another house on Monday but I have run into a problem so any help I can get back soon would be a great help.

I am an IT Contractor and I have been on the same contract for the past 4 years (it just keeps getting renewed!). About 3 months ago I decided to move from my Umbrella Company to form my own Ltd Company.

My current mortgage is a 5 year Fixed Rate mortgage that I started last October. I phoned my Mortgage Company (Marsden Building Society) to tell them I was moving and they have come back and said they will not port my mortgage across because I have not been Self Employed through my Ltd Company for at least a year. I asked them about going back to using an umbrella company but they said I would have to have had at least one contract renewal. My current contract does not expire until late Aug 2009.

I find it ridiculous because I have been in the same job for so long but just because I changed to have my own Ltd Company I can not get a mortgage. My take home salary has only got better if anything.

I think my only option would be to pay my early redemption fee (£4,500) and then try that way but I suspect that nobody else will give me a mortgage either.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance