• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Am i paying too much Tax?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Am i paying too much Tax?

Hi

I am a contractor, and I go through an Umbrella Company. I have never really understood how it all works, I just know I get a wage at the end of every week. But I took time just to see how much i get in my pocket per hour after tax and Umbrella company fees. Basically, I am on 20.70 per hour, and after a 37.5 hour week, i get the equivelant of £13.42 per hour in my pocket, I thought this seems pretty low. Does this figure seem right to you guys?

Kind Regards

Originally posted by bigmaz View Post

I have never really understood how it all works,

Just an idea but should you not find out?

Originally posted by bigmaz View Post
    Basically, I am on 20.70 per hour, and after a 37.5 hour week, i get the equivelant of £13.42 per hour in my pocket, I thought this seems pretty low. Does this figure seem right to you guys?
    yup seems about right. 65-70% being the norm

Comment

Yes this seems about right - approx 65% after you deduct:

Employers NI
      Employees NI
      Holiday pay
      Tax
      Umbrella fees.

Who is your umbrella?
      Last edited by Svalbaard; 6 July 2009, 14:07.
      Sval-Baard Consulting Ltd - we're not satisfied until you're not satisfied.

Nothing says "you're a loser" more than owning a motivational signature about being a winner.

Comment

You are not really on 20.70 an hour as employers NI has to be taken off before you get to personal taxation.