• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor Morgage - First Time Buyer

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor Morgage - First Time Buyer

Hello All,
    I am an IT contractor and a first time buyer.I have been looking for a 85-90%LTV mortgage and really finding it difficult in terms of the interest rates.

I contacted a couple of Mortgage advisers(the ones that come up in the first page of a google search for contactor mortgages) who specialize in contractor mortgages and they only list Halifax and Woolwich as possible lenders with the intrest rates in the region of 6.5-7.5%.

Is it best for me to approach other lenders on my own?. I am not sure whether they look upon contractors favourably even with 10-15% deposit.Any suggestions reg Lenders/Mortgage advisors would be gratefully accepted.

Ta
    Last edited by schindler; 7 July 2009, 09:02.

Hurry up. Nationwide say prices rose nearly 2% in June and have risen straight for the last 5 months.

I'd pay the 7% and be grateful you can get on the ladder before prices go stratospheric now the recession is over.

Comment

Originally posted by schindler View Post
      Hello All,
      I am an IT contractor and a first time buyer.I have been looking for a 85-90%LTV mortgage and really finding it difficult in terms of the interest rates.