• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Timer - Scared Of Contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Timer - Scared Of Contracting

Ok - I have six years experience in IT development and a solid degree. I have only ever worked perm and generally speaking been good at it - Never sick , always arrive early and stay very late and generally focus on what needs to be done.

I have been offered a contract role at 500 per day (and given that my salary iat the moment is £50k) you can tell I am quite excited. Its a one year contract.

Why would I not take it? Is it SAFER to e a permie? I have seen these people let go but contractors tend to get chopped right at the beginning - Right?

Can anyone please give me guidance - I am really only concerned of getting the role and then getting sacked five months in.

In this environment this would be devastating as going back to perm after contracting is impossible??

Any ideas?

500 quid a day for a first time contractor? I dont think so, Chloe.
    I couldn't give two fornicators! Yes, really!

Comment

Originally posted by BolshieBastard View Post
      500 quid a day for a first time contractor? I dont think so, Chloe.
      Dunno, why you would say that! It's perfectly possible if you have the skills and are clued up about how to handle the agencies etc.