• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Stuttgart?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stuttgart?

Hi,

Is anyone able to give me a quick 2min guide to contracting in Stuttgart please, as I have the possiblity of a contract there? I've been contracting for many years, but have never been overseas before.
    • What's the cheapest way to fly there from the North West?
    • What sort of accommodation costs would I be looking at (I normally B&B)?
    • What sort of rate should I expect, given travel costs etc, to make it feasible (it's an embedded software contract)

Cheers

I was working there late last year

flights depend on where in the north west your from, i flew from manchetser to stuttgart regularly and found TuiFly were the cheapest and best suited for my flight times

accommodation is hard to get in stuttgart and expensive (IMO), as i was working in the south i had to choose between an apartment rental and a 30/45 min commute each way or staying in a long term apartment in a hotel and just a few mins walk to work. B&b's are available but get booked up in advance, search trip advisor.

for rates i'd work out accom costs first, then work out how many times you want to fly home a month (look at costs 1 month from now to get a good idea), then add your daily rate in your line of work and see how that fits. I had to take a cut in daily rate slightly to get the work but it paid off as I walked straight into my current work..
    Last edited by chef; 24 July 2009, 14:24.
    The proud owner of 125 Xeno Geek Points