• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Road Trip USA after being benched

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Road Trip USA after being benched

I've been benched after a 8 year stretch. Client didn't renew my contract, I'm an Oracle Developer come DBA type geezer.

My war chest is healthy I don't have a mortgage and I'm not far off being 40. I have a teacher as a gf but I think that isn't going to last, she is in early 30s and wants kiddies, I don't.

So

I fancy hiring one of those **** off RVs and just motoring around the States for six months although I think you can only stay for 90 days whatever. Come back in March 2010 and hope the market has picked up a bit.

Am I mad or just deserving of a break from the machine?
    Last edited by bodnobal; 7 August 2009, 02:12.

Configure your finances so you have no nett loss and go for it.

In 2003 I spent 12 months backpacking around South America/Cuba, absolutely changed my outlook on everything. World was still there when I got back. In Apr 08 I happily benched myself to look after kids I didn't plan or think I wanted - wouldn't change a thing now. Well, apart from getting a job and a life and having a coversation with somebody older than 2.. (HALP!!)

Carefull what you do with the GF, the grass is always greener until you decide you want some company again - in my experience good ones are not found, they have to find you.
    Last edited by craig_m67; 7 August 2009, 05:54. Reason: rambling

Comment