• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HAB proves his incompetence once again

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I thought I had things covered. I was trying to be so professional. I have a job that runs every day that backs up all my databases. All was good in the world.

Except, I want to take a copy of my reference data / time series database onto my workstation and when I look for the backup of the database – it’s only 2 Mb! I’ve been backing up the wrong database for five months. I migrated to a new schema, but didn’t change the backup job which carried on doing the old database.

I really shouldn’t be let out alone. I’m going to do some serious damage one of these days.
    How did this happen? Who's to blame? Well certainly there are those more responsible than others, and they will be held accountable, but again truth be told, if you're looking for the guilty, you need only look into a mirror.

Follow me on Twitter - LinkedIn Profile - The HAB blog - New Blog: Mad Cameron
    Xeno points: +5 - Asperger rating: 36 - Paranoid Schizophrenic rating: 44%

"We hang the petty thieves and appoint the great ones to high office" - Aesop

You don't have to prove a thing to us, old friend!

Comment

We all do it. The other day I copied a file, did some mods and resaved only to find original overwritten. I'd actually just coped a shortcut.
      bloggoth

If everything isn't black and white, I say, 'Why the hell not?'
      John Wayne (My guru, not to be confused with my beloved prophet Jeremy Clarkson)

Comment