• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

To tell or not to tell?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To tell or not to tell?

Hi all,

Just looking for some general advice/guidance here.

I am a consultant and just got a visa that allows me to do contracting. Therefore, I am looking for contract work and will be resigning from my employer when I find one.

The thing is, I really like the client I am currently consulting for, and am quite enjoying the project, too. The client also likes me and insisted on having me on board.

I am pondering whether I should tell the client that I am looking to get into contracting in the hopes that they will offer to take me on (and pay less than they're charged through my consulting firm, incidentally).

The risk here is that various non-compete clauses in contracts may prevent them from taking me on. Therefore, they may get worried that I won't be around for long and insist on going back to my employer and asking for a replacement. That is lose/lose for me.

However, they could potentially find a way around those clauses or pay my employer a lump sum to take me on as a contractor - not sure.

Anyone have any thoughts/guidance on this?

I'm not an expert but I'd guess you are screwed.

You really need to find out exactly what those clauses are and weigh up the risks of rocking the boat (substantial, I would imagine).

Question - if you like working for the client and enjoy the project, why do you want to go contracting?