• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Looking to go Contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking to go Contracting

Hi All

This is the first time I use this forum and I would appreciate any advice concerning my situation.

I have around 4 years experience in Mainly SQL Server Database development. I have always liked the idea of contracting but have never been able to. Initially due to lack of experience, now due to market conditions and the worry of if I could find a job were I to resign from my current perm role (as I cant find a contract while in perm due to notice period).

Do I need a lot more experience before I can go contracting?
    Would it be wise to resign anytime soon and start looking for contract jobs?
    How do I enter the contracting market? Can I stay perm and look for one in the meantime?

All advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all

Yes, resign and go contracting. It's a great life and you'll make a lot of money.

Speaking gibberish on internet talkboards since last Michaelmas. Plus here on Twitter

Comment

And no tax to pay to boot!

Comment

After reading the articles on the top-right-hand side of this page, write down an plan of action and we'll critique it for you.

And watch some gladiator movies.

Comment

FFS. Can't you inferior sockpuppet creators not come up with something new? How many posts are we going to get from "newbies" who want to go contracting in the biggest recession since the second world war?