• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Aussie Contractor looking for advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Aussie Contractor looking for advice

I am an experienced contractor (30+ years) and I have been in London for the last 2 weeks scouring the job boards and other contacts looking for test manager/performance tester/technical architect roles (for which I have loads of relevant experience).
    I get plenty of calls from various agencies, get positive feedback, get told that my CV is being sent to the client..then silence, or "they filled the position internally" or "you needed skill x" (i have skills a-s) or you asked for 450, they will only pay 375" etc.
    Any advice as to how I can get to a first contract? Am i asking too much, taking the wrong approach, not being aggressive enough, being too aggressive, being unrealistic??

Thanks.

There are several problems here:-

1)The vast majority of agents are not skilled in the roles they are recruiting for and so any comment on your technical suitability for the job should be taken with a huge pinch of salt.