• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Marketing phase

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Marketing phase

I am still relatively new to contracting but now on my third contract and I love the benefits that it gives to me. One area that I struggle with is the time in between contracts that I call my "marketing phase"!

I contract as a project manager and have good experience in this area having done it for 14 years. Upon coming a freelancer I have become Prince 2 qualified so that I can add a "buzz word" to my CV to compliment my experience. Naturally I would prefer my contracts "back to back" but I am realistic to understand that may not always be possible. It was for me between contracts 1&2 (virtually) but not between contracts 2&3. In general, due to PM closing activities, I find the end of the contract a busy period and therefore not condusive to applying/following up on new contracts.

How do other people cope with their marketing phase? How do you apportion your time? I find my initial week or 2 starts with intense web searching and phoning of agents but I also need to be able to fit in other business needs such as catching up on accounts. I am looking into ways to divide my time without creating undue concern (guilt?!) that I am not working hard enough to find a new contract!

All/any views & opinions appreciated.

That's an interesting one "marketing phase"

I think "down and out" or "up the paddle without a creek" spring to mind as other alternatives.