• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Notice Period

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Notice Period

I work as a limited company. I was recently given notice on a Friday by my agency of 1 week after working through them for over 1 year. The following Monday was a Bank Holiday. Am I entitled to invoice for 5 days or only 4? I am under the impression that the legal minimum is 1 working week under these circumstances, although the agency tells me I can only claim for 4 days.

Welcome, newbie.

Originally posted by sluice View Post
    I work as a limited company. I was given notice by my agency of 1 week. The following Monday was a Bank Holiday. Am I entitled to invoice for 5 days or only 4?
    A week's notice is seven calendar days, not five working days, unless the contract says otherwise.

You get to work for 4 days and get paid for 4 days.

However, you do get to spend the Bank Holiday Monday updating your CV and uploading it to the job sites and doing whatever research you need to do to hit the job boards running.

You have had a year's money out of this contract, don't fret about that one day.

ALTERNATIVELY: the implication is you do not need to attend and you are off-site. You still get 4 days' dosh - but for doing NOTHING! That's a huge win.

Finally, be glad you had a notice period. Most of my contracts have specified a zero notice period.

More thoughts: what does the contract say the notice period is?
    Drivelling in TPD is not a mental health issue. We're just community blogging, that's all.