• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Closing a company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing a company

Hi

I was a contractor but recently took a permi role, however, I will start looking for a new contact in the New Year or sooner. Can anyone recommend if I should close my company or suspend it for the period I am permi.

Thanks

No need to do either, you're just not doing any billable business at the moment
    Coffee's for closers

Comment

I'm considering something similar. If you become a permanent employee then do you have to issue yourself with a P45, or is it possible to remain an employee of your own company in parallel with your permie job?

Comment

Hi NUI & kess

The decision on closing your company really depends on whether you will be contracting through it at a later date. If you suspect you may, then it would probably be better to keep it dormant and save the hassle of incorporating a new one later.

If in your current financial year you have traded and stop trading; then you are 'not trading', not dormant. To be dormant, you have to have not traded in the whole financial year. With a dormant company you are still required to file a set of dormant accounts which is relatively easy to complete.

One thing worth mentioning here. All companies house returns and paperwork need keeping up to date for both dormant and 'not trading' companies. If you failed to file the annual return, CH could make an application to strike the company off the register.