• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Forced to choose an Umbrella company is this legal

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Forced to choose an Umbrella company is this legal

Hi,

I've just started a new contract with reed and they have an "approved list" of umbrella companies, I am very happy with the one I have now but they refuse to let me use them. Is this legal? can they corner the market like that?

Sorry if this has an obvious solution but im still quite new to contracting

thanks in advance

This question gets asked every now and then. Put simply it's perfectly legal. It's a business to business transaction. As such, the agent can insist that they only deal with selected 3rd parties.

The odd thing is that you say you've "just started a new contract" - wasn't all this tied up and established before you started.

Comment

well I was working for one agency with an umbrella company and then they contract ended abruptly and basically I started a new contract the following monday. I expected to be able to still use my umbrella company but because they wern't on their "list" I couldn't. Im not 2 weeks in to the contract and still havent been paid as this hasnt been sorted.

I don't earn alot so i'm reluctant to pay for all the insurances related to starting a ltd company and its also its only a 3 month contract (possibly longer) so I don't want to pay for a years insurance.

Comment

Approved list

Originally posted by daniel3v6 View Post
        Hi,