• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Personal & Corporation Tax Confusion-Am I overpaying?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dear all,

I recently started trading as a limited company and have been surprised at the tax I still need to pay. Adding up the paye, NI, dividends and corporation tax incurred, as regardless of tax type it's still mine to pay, I don't think I'm better off.

I'm new to this and would appreciate any advice. I used to contract via a UK umbrella/paye and paid fairly high tax (I think it averaged c35% instead of 40% after fees) and expected bigger reductions via a Ltd.

In my first year of Ltd trading I billed around £94k (exc vat). I paid myself £20k total through paye (paye etc was c£6500 on top), plus £42k dividends before tax. I'm now advised I need to pay c£10k tax on the dividends and £14k corporation tax. This puts my tax at £6500+£10k+£14k=£30.5k.

Surely if I'd gone through an agency/std paye again, even with a 22% and then 40% high personal tax, I'd have been hit by a similar amount of tax on £95k gross?

Can't see a saving - am I missing something?
    I'm asking my accountant but would appreciate any advice from the forum..

Thanks

paying a high dividend will encur extra tax

Salary = £20,000
    Net dividend = £42,000
    Other income = £0
    Tax code = 647L
    Tax year = Fiscal Year 2009/2010.
    Dividend Information
    The gross dividend is £46,666, making your total gross income £66,666