• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dilemma over existing contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dilemma over existing contract

Hi All

I would like opinions please.

I have been working for company for 6 months now, contract extended again for another 6 months. Working direct.

Had an unfortunate accident playing sport last week will need 6 - 8weeks to mend fracture in elbow and now have to work from home. I was going into the office because I felt it benefitted the project in doing so. I have access to all servers etc via vpn. The only thing that I cannot do is attend meetings (To be honest I do not think I should be there anyway).

As of today had a call from the contract person within the company stating that as I am now working from home they will cut my rate by £50 a day, rate is not all that great anyway.

So basically have a dilemma do I just lump it and take the drop (Cannot afford to do so though). By making me take the drop they are almost implying that the contract should be at their office therefore inside IR35, of which I am not. There is nothing in the existing contract at all.

Do I just drive in and keep my existing rate, though its almost as if they are saying that I have to or take a drop in pay, inside ir35. Also the doctor advised I shouldn't because of where the fracture is as it may be painful.

To be honest well and truly being screwed.

Would like to tell them where to go but not that easy.

Opinions please

What options does your contract allow??