• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ballooned

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ballooned

Years and years ago, when I was a young soldier, I was based in Southern England and my wife and youngster were living oop North. Now a soldier used to get free travel three or four times a year, travel warrents they were called, but that’s no good if you want to see your family every fortnight.
    The train was too expensive, so I resorted to hitch hiking. In those days there were lots of hitch hikers on the roads, and many middle aged drivers had been in National service, so they loved to stop and give you a lift and talk about old times. I remember vividly walking onto the slip road at the services and seeing at least twenty hippies in the queue ahead of me, then the lorry or car would stop right next to me and the driver would shout, ‘get in quick’, much to the disgust of those who had been waiting for hours.

Come the winter time and the bad weather, this became more and more difficult, so I decided to try the train option. Without paying of course. Now my station in Little Sandhurst was unmanned, so I knew that if I could get onto the platform in Lime st, I could travel free. All I needed was a stick and a platform ticket and a single from edge hill to Lime St.