• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

"Renewal"

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Renewal"

Hi,

Bit of a tricky question...

I have been contracting at a major plc for the last 3 months, via a multi-national solutions provider (so technically with the solutions provider)

the "major plc" have told me they would like to renew me for another 3 months but only directly, not through the "solutions provider", on the basis that the "solutions provider" has a *huge* mark-up of 300%.

Now I know I am likely to put noses out of joint, but with tough times and a mortgage to pay thats not my concern - is this sort of thing likely to get me into any contractual wrangles?

BBM

Originally posted by BBM View Post
    is this sort of thing likely to get me into any contractual wrangles?
    Little clue, read your contract

Comment

is this sort of thing likely to get me into any contractual wrangles?
      I would expect so, yes.

What does your contract say? What does their contract say? What is the exact nature of the relationship between the two clients?

I did it a few years back - consultancy (coincidentally at the same time, but I was ready to walk) gave contractors their notice, so the end-client picked me up. Had no issues, and changed agency to do it - I guess the main reason being that the consultancy had already terminated the contract.
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment