• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract(s) Dilemma

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract(s) Dilemma

So been offered a number of new contracts but not too sure what to go for:
    • contract no.1 is with a major telecommunications company providing technical support for a number of products
      • the plus side is that it is only 10 minutes from home by foot, will probably (more likely definitely) last more than the original 6 months and new technologies
      • the minus side is that I've never used the software before and haven't used the OS for over 5 years. There is on-call as well but only 1 week in every 7. If I deceide to leave after the 6 months then I'm not going to have enough skills to market myself in these new technologies and my existing skills will also not be up to date having not used them.
    I've discussed this with them a number of times but they still want me, even offering a 10% raise on the hourly rate. Their plan is to get me on the team as I'll be the most technical person there so that they can grab more resources from other departments whom they currently rely on so it could work out okay.
    • contract no.2 is for a mid sized insurance company upgrading and configuring their current portfolio of monitoring software then changing their automation software to another product and then helping them implement a new high availability system