• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

OMFG, Brown Stikes Again

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OMFG, Brown Stikes Again

Tax change for movies made in UK

Now don't quote me on this, I'm no expert, but last year Brown struck a knife through the British film industry. Tax relief to promote production of films produced in the UK was cancelled. There was an outcry from the industry at the time. Now, a year on, after several films in production or pre-production have been pulled, Gordo has cottoned on that by over taxing an industry, you effectively kill it, and therefore receive less tax.

So, in true New Labour fashion, we are to have film 'credits'. (I thought that was reserved for the roll of tape at the end of a movie?!)

What a f***ing U-turn.
    Last edited by Bovvered; 6 December 2005, 08:41.

Oh dear, looks like the beginning of the end...

How do we initiate a "Vote Of No Confidence"?

Comment

Come on guys

New Labour have not been in power that long.

Give them time.

Only another 3 years before the great british people get to choose again.

2009 new labour seen below

Throw them to the lions - WC2 5.4

Comment

I like this quote from the man himself

Chancellor Gordon Brown has told the BBC he would run a Blairite administration if he becomes prime minister after Tony Blair steps down.
        He told BBC Radio 4's Today he would lead a reforming Labour Party, which encouraged an entrepreneurial economy.