• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claim Job Seeker's Allowance between contracts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claim Job Seeker's Allowance between contracts

Hi,

I'm an IT contractor, working on customers site, and my situation is this:

I'll be ending a fixed term (3 mths) contract on 18th December. I am taking a couple of weeks off over the Christmas period, and have a renewal (another 3 mths) starting 4th January 2010.

Can i claim JSA for the 2 weeks that i'll be out of work, even though i know i'll be returning to the same company?

Cheers for any help/advice.

kingcook
    Contracting: more of the money, less of the sh1t

Are you through a LtdCo? If so, presumably you will be salaried during that period and, therefore, employed.
    My all-time favourite Dilbert cartoon, this is: BTW, a Dumpster is a brand of skip, I think.

Comment

why would you want to claim for JSA when you aren't looking for a job?

Comment

Originally posted by RichardCranium View Post
        Are you through a LtdCo? If so, presumably you will be salaried during that period and, therefore, employed.
        I am not a ltd co. I use an umbella company.

Comment

Originally posted by singhr View Post
          why would you want to claim for JSA when you aren't looking for a job?
          JSA pays £64/wk, also i could claim NI contributions? (not sure)

Comment

Originally posted by kingcook View Post
            Hi,

I'm an IT contractor, working on customers site, and my situation is this: