• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Job adverts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Job adverts

I've applied for many jobs the last couple of years since leaving Uni and I've always wondered what employers mean when they mention that "experience" is required. Do they mean work experience or any type of relevant experience ( experience from courses at Uni or self taught in my case).

If you're a recruiter or human resources person that would be great but I'm also wondering what other people's take is on this.

Thanks!

They mean actual work experience. Self-taught is very rarely considered valid and college-taught stuff not often considered valid unless you are seeking work in academia or planning on working hard for abuse instead of money to make rich people richer (I think that's called an 'internship').

So, do voluntary work. That counts as work experience; especially when you can get it backed up with a reference.

IT Can Help.

IT 4 Communities.

Exceptions do exist. If you want work as a web designer, go and design some web sites and put them up on the 'net. Then call that your portfolio and put it on your CV.
    My all-time favourite Dilbert cartoon, this is: BTW, a Dumpster is a brand of skip, I think.

Comment

Thanks for your reply RichardCranium. I have actually got a portfolio up on the Web which I think has helped on interviews. Last one I went to they said I was very close to getting picked but it was just my performance at interview which let me down.