• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

UK contracting as a career

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UK contracting as a career

I've been a UK contractor for 13 years now. My rate got slashed last year and I'm now making about the same in nominal terms as I did back in 2001 (back then it was a 7 hour day, now it's 8, but let's ignore that). In real terms that's a big wage cut, but I know that I'm a much better (and therefore more productive) developer than I was all those years ago.

I love programming and I can't imagine doing anything else (_definitely_ not management), but if I keep going in this long term direction I'll fade away to nothing. I've been trying to figure out where I've gone wrong. Here are some ideas:

1. Maybe comparing with 2000 isn't fair because that was the height of the dotcom boom, and the market we have now is the "real" IT market.
    2. Maybe outsourcing is pushing rates down, and maybe this will continue long term.
    3. Maybe I backed the wrong horse (.NET).
    4. Maybe by this stage in my career I should have graduated to being an architect (but who wants to draw UML diagrams all day?)
    5. Maybe, unless you're in finance, the opportunities for advancement as a contract developer are just plain limited.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?
    Thanks in advance.

http://forums.contractoruk.com/gener...tor-films.html
    Coffee's for closers

Comment