• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is the bench just full of dross?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is the bench just full of dross?

Serious question. I've been hiring now for 2 months and finally got my quota. And those that I've seen are shocking. Just met up with an old buddy who's in the same sector, and he's having the same trouble.

Is it that it's hard to get to see good people cos the agents are filtering out those asking for decent day rates...or is that that there’s no good people out there anyway? I have many good contacts in my field, but they are all in work.

Originally posted by Jeebo72 View Post
    Is it that it's hard to get to see good people cos the agents are filtering out those asking for decent day rates...
    Nail. Head.

I've seen a load of CVs lately and they are all tulipe. Remember, it's not just agents that filter them but also the clueless dipsticks in HR and the clueless dipsticks in purchasing decide on a preferred suppliers list that can't provide decent people.

At the same time I know of very good people who are benched.
    And what exactly is wrong with an "ad hominem" argument? Dodgy Agent, 16-5-2014

Comment

Exactly the same experience. I wrote about it in another thread some time ago.

What appears to be happening is the agents are upping their margin by asking a little less, and sending dross forward.
      Insanity: repeating the same actions, but expecting different results.
      threadeds website, and here's my blog.

Comment