• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Project Perception Rant - Not Happy !!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Project Perception Rant - Not Happy !!

So I have been beavering away on my project for the past 9 months (I am contract PM), which has not been issue free due to problems with the client co chosen software supplier delivering totally crap quality, defect ridden software and has taken my project near budget tolerance and pushing back go live date.

My direct reporting manager has taken a total back seat on the project since the start of the year and does not even attend the Project Board meetings any more leaving me to it (which has exposed me in many ways as he is still attends senior mgmet department meetings which affect the project but don't feedback to me - and I have told him this).

Anyway I hear today from an equivalent of mine (but permie) that the project is perceived by the Project Board/Executive as being out of contol and in a total mess !!

Hit the roof as this is the first time I have been made aware of this, although my boss is now out until next Monday, when I will certainly be picking this up from him. If the seniors knew the efforts the team and I are putting in and hurdles we are addressing, which admitedly can affect any project, I am sure they would have a different peception. This has also had an immediate de-motivational effect on the project team who have also found out about this.