• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Making the switch

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Making the switch

Hi all,

I am considering making the switch from permanent to contract work and was after a bit of advice. My main motivation (surprisingly) is money. I want to go travelling at some point this year and want to build up some funds. I would probably carry on contract work on my return if all went well.

I am currently a PHP web developer which I have been doing for 2 years. Prior to that I was a software tester for 3 years. I also have a degree in Computer Science. Would you say there are jobs available for someone with my skill set?

I've noticed most contract jobs are looking for an immediate start. How have people dealt with switching over from a permanent position in the past? Obviously I'd have to give around 4 weeks notice with my current employer, and then, what, just take the risk of finding something towards the end of this I that can start straight away?

Any advice appreciated.

Cheers
    Tom

Guffaw!

edit: OK, maybe you are serious after all.

Resigning from a permie job now would be like jumping off the Lusitania in mid-Atlantic, and bobbing around in the water trying to attract the attention of the lookout on the Titanic.

HTH
    Last edited by OwlHoot; 24 February 2010, 15:15.
    Work in the public sector? Read the IR35 FAQ here

Comment

I was after some advice so if you cant help, please dont post.

Comment

Originally posted by pokeyz View Post

Believe me, that was advice.