• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Do you prepare for interviews?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do you prepare for interviews?

I have a massive interview tomorrow. Big bucks, longterm, high profile role. Very high profile.

I've been doing a similar job perm for a few years, but this is the first pitch which is outside of my comfort zone and I mean way outside. It's going to be more about understanding the business and being able to handle senior stakeholders, very senior(£1M+) and then PM's that!

Spent four hours preparing so far. Going to do another 2, then a couple in the morning.

Is this excessive or do members actually prepare for contractors?
    What happens in General, stays in General.
    You know what they say about assumptions!

Originally posted by MarillionFan View Post
    Is this excessive ?

A bit...
    ‎"See, you think I give a tulip. Wrong. In fact, while you talk, I'm thinking; How can I give less of a tulip? That's why I look interested."

Comment

If it gets you the role then its worth it, best of luck

Comment

What was your asbergers score?
        Me, me, me...

Comment

I'd say you've identified the 2 areas which determine how much preparation I personally put in, which is a direct comparison with
          a) how much I want the role and
          b) how easily I think I'll handle it..

I guess c) would be how recently I've been doing interviews, since most PM questions that are raised in interviews have next to nothing to do with how you actually perform the role in question!