• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

another permie to contractor situation

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

another permie to contractor situation

I have about 5 years permie experience in 2nd and 3rd line IT support, with 2 very CV friendly employers over that time.

I am also SC security cleared.

Currently getting £32k + virtually guaranteed 10% bonus,
    share incentive scheme,
    private medical insurance for myself and 2 children,
    dental care
    4x life assurance,
    travel insurance,
    income protection insurance,
    critical illness insurance,
    childcare vouchers,
    employer contributes 5% of salary to my pension
    30 days holidays + bank holidays.

I have learnt here that the working approximation is annual salary / 1000 gives the hourly rate.

So £32 per hour it is, or £224 as a day rate. But that's just to match my current salary, isn't the point of contracting to make more money?
    So I'd really want something like £350 as a day rate to boost my income and allow me to afford to buy myself most of those benefits.

I know my salary is not great for London, but the benefits package is pretty sweet, and would want to be offering myself the same benefits as a contractor (minus the share incentive scheme, can sacrifice that)

Is anyone out there getting contracts that pay £350 a day for IT support?

Thanks for reading.

Originally posted by bob the bob View Post
    isn't the point of contracting to make more money?