• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Criminals phishing on job boards?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Criminals phishing on job boards?

Received this mail from one of my email accounts I use for contract hunting.

Hello Nottingham,
    My name is XXX XXX; I am a hiring manager with XXX, a non-profit international student exchange organization specializing in managing exchange programs for university and college students all over the world. You are registered on one of the major job boards we use. Unfortunately, we only have limited access to your details so I am not sure if this opportunity is appropriate for you. I didn’t think there was any harm in making you aware of the role as it might be just what you are looking for. Upon reviewing your profile, I would like to offer you a position of an Area Representative with our organization. This position would allow you to work from home or office, since all your functions will be done through a web-based interface, which can be accessed remotely. Expected working hours are 9am to 2pm, Tuesday to Friday.
    An Area Representative’s responsibilities include:
    • Preparing materials that will be used for country & state guides for foreign students;
    • Working with host families, helping to resolve their issues, responding to their concerns;
    • Distributing of educational materials and grants from our sponsors.