• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice for A new Would be Contractor!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for A new Would be Contractor!

Hi All,

I'm currently considering becoming a contractor. Although I have 16 years of experience in the IT industry the last 8 years have been spent as a Presales Consultant for a large storage vendor.

Because of this any technical skills I had are now very rusty and popular applicatons like Exchange etc I only know from a very high level. I've recently undertaken some voluntary work to try and bring my Windows admin skills back up to scratch and hopefully get some exposure to things like Exchange and active directory etc.

A contractor I worked alongside briefly last week suggested that to try and break into the market I shoould consider going for a contracting role as a Desktop Support Engineer. Would you agree with this, how would agencies react to someone who has no experience as a contractor?

Does anyone have any strategies they would suggest I use given my background?

Thanks.

No.

You need to bring marketable skills and experience to the table.

In a tough Market with none of these you have as much chance as a snowball in an Icelandic volcano
    What happens in General, stays in General.
    You know what they say about assumptions!

Comment

Originally posted by boldsoul View Post
      Hi All,