• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Damn - Let a permie get to me.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Damn - Let a permie get to me.

Broken all my own rules and did exactly what I would tell others not to do !
    Perm has been slopey shouldering his workload straight to me since I started. Most of it is justifed, I have taken some of his role and I am a contractor so will try to help where possible. Had to draw a line when he bounced a request to do training for software I have never seen or used before (I am not in a technical OR training role), he got asked and was scrambling to get out of it - I know, that contractor has taken the rest, let's try him. He turns up at my desk and tries to force me to do it. I start off very calm, sorry I am not comfortable with that, he won't take no and spends 15 minutes getting more stressed and louder. That doesn't work great on me, I just dig in harder unfortunately. Of course, he has already been in to complain to hiring manager. A contractor never wins these arguments and it could well cost me a renewal which would be unfortunate. I can usually deal with these types but not this time !!

Originally posted by lukemg View Post
    Broken all my own rules and did exactly what I would tell others not to do !