• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Is it worth trading as a company over a short period?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is it worth trading as a company over a short period?

Hi there,

I am new to contracting in general and plan to move to the UK to work for around 12 months. I understand that you can take home a higher pay with a company arrangement vs umbrella, but what if you only plan to be contracting for anywhere from 6 to 12 months? Is there still value in setting up a company?

Reason I'm asking is because I would like to know if a company would still outweigh some of the benefits of an umbrella in a short term contracting arrangement e.g I believe umbrellas allow me to claim relocation expenses and living expenses, and I'd also be saving money on accounting fees of say £100 a month.

Any help greatly appreciated

It may be worth setting up a limited company for that period, it depends on the rate you will be earning. Generally anything over £35,000 makes it worth considering, then it's just a question of balancing out the extra admin and the extra responsibility and deciding if the profit makes it worth it in your view (or if for the sake ox £x you'd rather save the trouble and go brolly).
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment