• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Husband and wife contracting through same Ltd Co. - good or bad idea?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Husband and wife contracting through same Ltd Co. - good or bad idea?

I'm sure this question must have been asked before, but I could find anything so here goes...

My wife and I are both considering going into contracting. We work in completely different fields (I'm an engineer, she's a freelance teacher/trainer).

Would it be sensible and most cost effective for us to work through a single joint Limited Company, or best to keep things separate?

TIA

(PS I have contracted before but then foolishly went permie and shut down my company. My wife has never done it.)

This has been covered on here before, and I seem to recall the advice is to have seperate companies. You are not engaged in the same type of business and you will earn diferent amounts of money for the company which will cause problems with HMRC if you take dividends, for example.
    +50 Xeno Geek Points
    Come back Toolpusher, scotspine, Voodooflux. Pogle
    As for the rest of you - DILLIGAF

Purveyor of fine quality smut since 2005

CUK Olympic University Challenge Champions 2010/2012

Comment

Originally posted by Zippy View Post