• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Overnight subsistence when staying in local rented accomm

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overnight subsistence when staying in local rented accomm

Hi all

I'm a first-time contractor, well inside of IR35, and rightly or wrongly, I'm with an umbrella for now.

For my first month, I've stayed with family a lot nearer to my temporary place of work than my permanent home, but still a *very* long commute away.

As of next week, I've found a room to rent a few minute's walk away. It's only available weekdays, so it's fine for the wholly/exclusively/necessarily stuff. It's a room to let in a private house, and only includes the room and incidental use of the bathroom and kitchen.

My understanding is that if I were staying in a hotel, overnight subsistence costs would be allowable, (in addition to overnight incidential expenses, and daytime subsistence expenses on the scale). However, my umbrella say that since I'd be able to use the kitchen, I can't claim overnight subsistence costs in this case.

I've searched extensively but can't find any clear information about this situation. Does anyone have any information or advice for me please?

Thanks in advance,

Matt