• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A POV from Bob, UK based....

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A POV from Bob, UK based....

It seems many people here are interested in knowing the current trends in all mystic world of UK jobs. I am no expert, but can share a recent experience at my company.
    Our requirement was 2 people, one for a testing role and another for a Java developer (we were looking for 2+ year’s experience, recruiting after a gap of 3 years!!)

Total number of applications for both roles, 951 ! (Our lone HR person was hit by this hurricane of people, some even applying from India, but job was never advertised in INDIA! ??? )

After screening the applications, we found that most if not all are highly skilled only (funny, because there was a government which made us believe in shortage of skilled people, thats a lie! At least from what we have seen)

Completed telephonic and got it down to 10 each for interview. (all applications from INDIA rejected without telephonic, but again, majority applications within UK were from Indians as well, most on tier 1 or residency! ... thank god, no paper work)

Yes, almost 10-20 of them were very good and great experience, plan was to get java guy for around 31K and tester for 26K (we are a small company). In end, we got Java for 22K and tester for 17K and people were willing to go down on that, but we agreed as below this was bit sad.