• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Issue with self-billing and accountant

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Issue with self-billing and accountant

Hello, I'm new to the whole limited company thing, so please be gentle I've recently entered into the contract world, and am using Nixon Williams as my accountant. It has basically been smooth sailing up until my first pay. My accountant is insistent on having a copy of my invoice at the end of each month before advising me of a take home figure. This would be no issue if I raised my own invoices, as I could just email over copies. However, I'm going though this self-billing thing with Hudson. I do apparently get remittances sent from the Hudson payments team up in Scotland at the end of each month, but they will only send this via royal mail, despite the rest of their process being online. So it seems that if I am to go by the book with my accountant, receiving my personal pay is entirely dependant on the receipt of a piece of paper posted from Scotland at the end of each month. I probably just could have just raised my own invoices and given these to the accountant, and they would have been none the wiser...but I guess I'm kind of trying to do the right thing here. The accountant "requires" remittances from the self-billing, and refuses to process any figures until this is received. I've spoken with some of the other contractors I work with, and their process seems like much less hassle. Maybe I'm missing something here, and this is the way things are done, but it