• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Skills for financial IT jobs

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Skills for financial IT jobs

I've been working for the last 10 years in Telecom. This
    is a line of work that is steadily drying up, plus I don't
    find it exciting anymore.

I've been thinking about switching sectors and move to the
    dark side of Finance. What are the IT skills needed to work
    in the financial sector? Is a MBA needed?

All input appreciated. All cynicism will get the Kim-Jong Il
    treatment.

Mark

Originally posted by markinbrussels View Post
    What are the IT skills needed to work
    in the financial sector?
    Depends - mostly on what products you want to work on. Are you a PM / BA / programmer?

Is a MBA needed?
    Depends. What is your skill set?

Your likelihood of getting a technical contract is not boosted by having an MBA. However, if you're consulting on the finer points of service provision (or some other guff) it might be handy.
    ‎"See, you think I give a tulip. Wrong. In fact, while you talk, I'm thinking; How can I give less of a tulip? That's why I look interested."

Comment

I've been working for the last 10 years in Telecom. This
      is a line of work that is steadily drying up, plus I don't
      find it exciting anymore.

All input appreciated. All cynicism will get the Kim-Jong Il
      treatment.

Mark
      I'm in Finance and I was thinking about just the same in the opposite direction!!