• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agency will not pay

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agency will not pay

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie just registered.

I had to leave a contract due to my gf having a bit of a breakdown at the moment, and thus could not concentrate on job working away from home. I gave them the week notice stipulated in the contract. Client signed my last 2 timesheets and we departed quite amicably. That is until the agency approached them for payment, they refuse to honour the time sheets. In return the agency will not pay me. All this in a time of personal crisis, when I need the money more than ever.

Any one got any ideas on where I stand legally?

Many thanks.

If all is at face value and as you present it, you are legally in the right. If you are "opted in" it is illegal for the agency to refuse to pay you on the grounds that they have not themselves been paid. If you are "opted out" it would seem that they are in breach of contract in any case.

Find a local contract solicitor (from a personal recommendation if possible) and take advantage of their initial free consultation to find out your options. Search these boards, several people here have (or are in the process of) taken their agents to court successfully for unpaid fees.

You may find they pay up at the sight of a solicitor's letter, but you may have to go to court to get your money. Have you the stomach for the fight?

Comment

Originally posted by NMA fanatic
      Hi everyone, I'm a newbie just registered.