• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

I see why Bob is taking the jobs. Dev work is eazy....

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I see why Bob is taking the jobs. Dev work is eazy....

I'm not a proper developer these days, but I can do this lark.

In little over a week I have developed a system to run the market data capture of my business.

That ...

Has a job running daily under Quartz.Net that sends a request via NServiceBus to a NT Service that grabs files from data vendors using FTP and dumps them into a incoming directory.

Then there is another service that uses a file watcher on that directory to pick up those files once they have been completely written and moves them to another directory depending on their context (i.e. the exchange it was for) possibly changing the file name. It then sends a NServiceBus message to another service to process the file.

That service uses FileHelpers & Rhino ETL to extract the prices. It augments each price with a code of the instrument in my database found in a cache using the facilities supplied by MS EntLib. It send the price to an updater service (if it could not find the code it send a different message). Also a message is sent back to the watch service to trigger a renaming of the file to a 'done' directory.

The updater service uses LINQ2SQL to update my database using stored procedures.

All of this was written in C# (VS 2008) complete with unit testing using NUnit/MOQ.

Almost all of the code was nicked from examples off the net.