• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 and Ltd Companies - Newbie Advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 and Ltd Companies - Newbie Advice

Hi all

I've been searching round the archives for info on this but have been unsucessful so hoped that someone could help with a query.

I'm just about to get into contracting, having worked permie all my life. As a newbie to this arena I've spoken to a number of colleagues who have set up Ltd companies and are going the usual dividend route. I have no real knowledge of IR35 other than what I've read on the HMRC website and it all looks very grey i.e. my role could be considered similar to that of a regular employee but as a contractor I cannot park on site, have no legal rights, pension, leave, meeting obligations, company responsibility, promotion, payrises etc. etc.

I realise this is/has probably been a hot topic already so don't want to start up any debates on this (and appreciate my opinions on IR35 above may not be entirely relevant with actual IR35 compliance) but could do with some advice on what I'm thinking of doing.

Can anyone advise on whether it is still possible to set a Ltd company and still employ my wife to do the books, but to pay her a reasonable salary for her work? Unfortunately she was made redundant but conveniently has over 20 years of finance/book keeping experience. Thus it would seem logical for her to work for me legitimately and to get paid a salary for doing so.