• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Closing Down - Moving to Australia

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing Down - Moving to Australia

Hi Guys, I've been a follower of ContractorUK, but this is my first post - so be kind.

I've been a contractor in the UK for a few years and am in the process of shutting down the business in preparation for a move to Australia(Perth) in October.

Couple of questions:

1) What's the most tax efficient way of closing down my UK business. It's was formed less than 3 years ago, so I understand that applying for entrepreneurs relief in my final co. return may be possible. Should I draw max dividends up to minimum tax threshold before company closure or wait until assets are dispersed as capital?

2) Ideally I'd like to continue contracting in Perth, and want to know what's the most common arrangements for contractors to work on. (Ltd, Unberella, sole trader, etc) My research so far has lead me to believe that some contractors work through the agents payroll or use the services of a Management Company(Payme, cxc, etc) and some operate under a PTY LTd co - but the benefits are even less so than the UK.

I know some posters on here have already shared some experiences(gadgetman) - but it would be helpful to consolidate this information.

Many thanks.

Me Too!

I'm also out of here after ten years of contracting in the UK, it's turned to crap, being benched now could mean a long wait.

*(1)